Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Seven Deadly Sins

Traditional Christianity indicates that there are seven deadly sins that are fatal to spiritual progress.   According the standard list, they are pride, envy, gluttony, lust, wrath, greed, and sloth.

How are the seven deadly sins potentially allocated among the chaos gods?  It seems that Slaanesh takes the lion's share:


Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities.

Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.

Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain.

Slannesh sins tend to have a legitimate, achievable good as their goal such as self esteem, satisfaction or wealth.  However, the objective is so seductive in nature that the individual loses control and fails to put reasonable limits on their desire.  Slaanesh is firmly rooted in the material world and seeks to achieve ascension through physicality.


Wrath is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for anger.

Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation which you do not possess and have no reasonable chance of obtaining.  Envy is inherently a destructive trait, because the individual has no chance of achieving what they are envious of for themselves.

Khorne sins tend to be destructive in nature.  The individual looks to cause external destruction to others.   


Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.

Nurgle sins tend to be associated with the failure to achieve any good because satisfaction with the status quo. 



Tzeentch is perhaps the most interesting deity because he represents an abstract concept.  Change is more of a universal truth rather than an indication of human frailty.  As a result, it doesn't seem that any of the seven deadly sins clearly line up with his domain.

No comments:

Post a Comment